Long-Range Forecast Skill Maps

How to interpret the skill map for the Environment Canada temperature and precipitation anomaly forecast ?

The temperature and precipitation anomaly forecasts for each month and season during the period indicated on the forecast charts were compared with the observed anomalies (based on 3 categories: ABOVE, BELOW and NEAR NORMAL). The skill maps show the percent correct. This score is calculated using a 3 by 3 contingency table. The higher the percentage, the better the forecast over the verification period. A purely random "chance" forecast would be, on the average, 33 percent correct. However, the data used to calculate the percent correct cover only 30 years . Thus, the threshold to be statistically significant is close to 40% (with 10% confidence level) and not 33%. With a longer dataset of, say, 10000 years the threshold would have been 33%. The fact that the threshold is 40% ensures that a forecast system is not better than 33% only by pure chance (true 18 times out of 20, 90% of the time). This means that a percent correct of 40% or less indicates that the forecast does not show skill. These areas are identified by the grey color on the skill maps. The percent correct can then be use to evaluate the confidence in the forecast for the current season (month).

In general, seasonal and monthly forecasts for countries located in the mid-latitudes (e.g. Canada) show low skill. However, since the skill of the forecasts varies with the season (month) and the geographical location, some useful information can still be obtained for many locations in Canada. It has to be note that when a large ENSO phenomena occur (like the El Nino of 1997-1998) the confidence in the forecast is much higher in Canadian areas teleconnected with the tropical Pacific oceans (see El Niño and La Niña web pages for details). For example during the El nino of 1997-1998, Environment Canada forecasted above normal temperature for nearly all of Canada and the percent correct of this forecast was 88%. Due to a number of factors the surface air temperature forecasts are generally much better than the precipitation forecast (Plante and Gagnon, 2000; Servranckx et al., 2000).

How to use the percent correct maps ?

Locate the area of interest on the map and check if the percent correct there is equal to or greater than 40%. If it is, ex. 60% , this means that in 60% of the cases during the period indicated on the chart, the correct category (ABOVE, BELOW or NEAR NORMAL) was forecasted for the season (month) considered. If the value is lower than 40% (grey areas), the model is not statistically better than pure chance and hence the confidence on the forecast is very low.

As of December 2011 seasonal forecasts at time ranges up to a year ahead are produced in a uniform manner from two comprehensive coupled atmosphere-ocean-land physical climate models. (This contrasts with the two different methods used prior to December 2011, numerical models up to 2-4 month range and a statistical method for longer range forecasts.)The skill of the forecasts generally decreases with increasing lead time, for example the 1-3 month forecasts are more skillful than the 2-4 month forecasts, which are more skillful than the 4-6 month forecasts, etc.

References

Kharin, V. V., Q. Teng, F. W. Zwiers, G. J. Boer, J. Derome, J. S. Fontecilla, 2009: Skill assessment of seasonal hindcasts from the Canadian Historical Forecast Project. Atmos. Ocean., 47, 204-223.

Plante A. and N. Gagnon, 2000: Numerical Approach to Seasonal Forecasting. In the "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operatiOnal meteorology", Halifax, November 1999, 162-165. (PDF Version) (Requires Acrobat Reader to view)

Servranckx, R., N. Gagnon, L. Lefaivre and A. Plante, 2000: Environment Canada Seasonal Forecasts: Products, Methods, Procedures and Verification. In the "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operational meteorology", Halifax, November 1999, 172-176. (PDF Version) (Requires Acrobat Reader to view)

Cartes d'habileté des prévisions saisonnières

Comment interpréter les cartes d'habileté pour les prévisions des anomalies de la température et des précipitations émises par Environnement Canada ?

Les prévisions des anomalies de la température et des précipitations pour chacune des saisons de la période indiquée sur les cartes de prévisions ont été comparées aux anomalies observées (basées sur 3 catégories: AU-DESSUS, SOUS et PRÈS DE LA NORMALE). Les cartes d'habileté montrent le score appelé pourcentage correct. Ce score est calculé en utilisant une table de contingence 3 par 3 . Plus le pourcentage correct est élevé, meilleure est la prévision durant la période de vérification. Une prévision basée sur le hasard aurait en moyenne un pourcentage correct de 33%. Toutefois, étant donné que les données utilisées pour calculer le pourcentage correct couvrent seulement une période de 30 ans, le seuil pour être statistiquement significatif est plus près de 40% (avec un niveau de confiance de 10%). En utilisant un ensemble de données couvrant une très longue période, par exemple 10000 ans, le seuil serait 33%. Le fait que le seuil est 40% assure que le système de prévisions n'est pas meilleur que le hasard par un coup de chance (vrai 18 fois sur 20 ou 90% du temps). Un pourcentage correct de 40% ou moins indique que le système de prévision ne démontre pas d'habileté prédictive. Ces zones sont identifiées par la couleur grise sur les cartes d'habileté. Le pourcentage correct peut donc être utilisé pour évaluer la confiance que l'on peut placer en la prévision pour chaque saison (mois).

En général, les prévisions saisonnières montrent peu d'habileté pour les pays situés dans les latitudes moyennes (ex.: Canada). Toutefois, étant donné que l'habileté des prévisions varie avec la saison et la localisation géographique, des informations utiles peuvent être tout de même obtenues pour plusieurs endroits au Canada. Il est à noter que lorsque qu'un important phénomène ENSO est présent (comme El Niño 1997-1998) la confiance en la prévision est beaucoup plus grande qu'en temps normal pour les zones canadiennes "téléconnectées" avec l'océan pacifique tropical. Pour plus d'information sur les zones liées par "téléconnection" au ENSO, consulter les pages web sur El Niño et La Niña d'Environnement Canada. Par exemple, durant El nino 1997-1998, Environnement Canada a prévu des températures au-dessus de la normale pour presque tout le Canada et le pourcentage correct de cette prévision a été 88%. Étant donné plusieurs facteurs, les prévisions de la température de l'air à la surface sont généralement grandement meilleures que les prévisions des précipitations (Plante and Gagnon, 2000; Servranckx et al., 2000).

Comment utiliser les cartes de pourcentages correct ?

Localiser la région d'intérêt sur la carte et remarquer si le pourcentage correct est plus élevé ou égale à 40%. Si c'est, par exemple, 60% , ceci indique 60% des cas prévus durant la période précisée sur la carte, la bonne catégorie (AU-DESSUS, SOUS ou PRÈS DE LA NORMALE) a été prévue pour la saison considérée. Si la valeur est plus basse que 40% (zones grises), le système de prévisions n'est pas statistiquement meilleur que le hasard et donc la confiance en la prévision est très basse. Il n'est pas recommandé d'utiliser la prévision pour ces zones.

À compter du 1er décembre 2011, les prévisions saisonnières pour toutes les échéances jusqu'à un an, sont produites de façon uniforme à l'aide de deux modèles couplés atmosphère-océan-terre. (Ceci contraste ave les deux méthodes différentes utilisées avant décembre 2011, modèles numériques jusqu'à l'échéance de 2-4 mois et une méthode statistique pour les échéances plus grandes.) L'habileté des prévisions décroit généralement avec la durée des échéances, par exemple, l'habileté est plus grande pour la prévision 1-3 mois que pour la prévision 2-4 mois, qui a une habileté plus grande que la prévision 4-6 mois, etc.

Références

Kharin, V. V., Q. Teng, F. W. Zwiers, G. J. Boer, J. Derome, J. S. Fontecilla, 2009: Skill assessment of seasonal hindcasts from the Canadian Historical Forecast Project. Atmos. Ocean., 47, 204-223.

Plante A. et N. Gagnon, 2000: Numerical Approach to Seasonal Forecasting. Dans les "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operational meteorology", Halifax, Novembre 1999, 162-165. (PDF Version, English only) (Nécessite Acrobat Reader pour voir)

Servranckx, R., N. Gagnon, L. Lefaivre et A. Plante, 2000: Environment Canada Seasonal Forecasts: Products, Methods, Procedures and Verification. Dans les "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operational meteorology", Halifax, Novembre 1999, 172-176. (PDF Version, English only) (Nécessite Acrobat Reader pour voir)