Seasonal Forecasts Based on Numerical Weather Prediction Models

Introduction

Since September 1995 Environnement Canada (EC)) has been producing seasonal forecasts of surface air temperature (SAT) anomalies and precipitations (PCPN) anomalies (1-3 month outlooks) for Canada from the Meteorological Service of Canada. The seasonal forecast results from an ensemble of 40 model runs, with 10 run of each of the following models: the Climate version of the Global Environmental Multiscale model (GEM-CLIM), the second generation of the Atmospheric General Circulation Model (AGCM2), the third generation of the Atmospheric General Circulation Model (AGCM3) and the Spectral aux éléments finis (SEF) one.

  • The GEM model (Côté et al. 1998) was developed at the Recherche en Prévision Numérique du temps (RPN). This model has a horizontal resolution of 2 degrees with 50 vertical levels.
  • The AGCM2 (McFarlane et al. 1992) model, from the, (Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma), has an horizontal resolution of 625 km (T32) with 10 vertical levels.
  • The AGCM3 (Scinocca et al. 2004), also from the CCCma uses an horizontal resolution of 315 (T63) with 32 vertical levels.
  • The SEF model, developed at RPN was used in previous studies for global data assimilation and medium-range weather forecasting (Ritchie, 1991; Ritchie and Beaudoin, 1994). It is also a global spectral model, with an horizontal resolution of 210 km (T95) and 27 vertical levels.

All models use the same CMC atmospheric analyses. However, they differ in the way they use the analyzed surface fields. Surface forcing, crucial in controlling the seasonal atmospheric variability, has to be treated carefully. The numerical models used in the EC Seasonal Forecast System are forced by 3 fields: sea surface temperatures (SST), sea ice and snow cover. The treatment of these fields is done in the following way:

  • For the GEM-CLIM model: Since no interactive ocean is used, the SST anomalies observed just prior the beginning of the forecast (preceding 30 days) are fixed throughout the forecast period and they are added to the evolving climatology. The sea ice extent analysis is relaxed toward the climatology during the first 15 days of the forecast period. The snow cover is a prognostic variable of the model initialised off from weekly observations.
  • For the AGCM2 model: The treatment of SST anomalies is done in the same way as for the GEM model. The sea ice cover is climatological all along the numerical integrations. The snow cover is a prognostic variable of the model initialised off from weekly observations.
  • For the AGCM3 model: The treatment of SST anomalies is done in the same way as for the GEM model. The sea ice extent analysis is relaxed toward the climatology during the first 15 days of the forecast period. The snow cover is a prognostic variable of the model initialised off from weekly observations.
  • For the SEF model: The treatment of SST anomalies is done in the same way as for the GEM model. The sea ice extent and the snow cover analyses are relaxed toward the climatology during the first 15 days of the forecast period.

The climatic drift in the models is removed using their known climatology (see below for more explanations). The models climatology comes from the 30 year hindcasts of the seasonal Historical Forecasting Project (HFP). The HFP was also essential to estimate the expected forecast skill of the models (see discussion in Derome et al., 2000; Kharin and Zwiers, 2001; Kharin et al., 2001; Plante and Gagnon, 2000). The data from the HFP are available on line from the CCCma Web site.

Surface Air Temperature Forecast Methodology

The surface air temperature forecasts are made in doing first an average of the daily temperature as predicted by the models. The climatologies of the models are then subtracted from the mean forecast seasonal temperatures to derived the forecast anomalies of each model. The anomalies of the four models are then normalized and combined using an arithmetic average. The surface air temperature forecast anomalies are the anomalies of the mean daily temperature measured at the Stevenson screen height (2 metres). Finally the anomalies are divided in three categories (above, near and below the normal).

Precipitation Forecast Methodology

The precipitation forecasts are made using the total accumulated water precipitation over the season. The precipitation predicted by the models is the total liquid and includes all types: snow, rain, ice pellets, etc. The climatology of the models is subtracted from the total precipitation forecast to derive the anomalies. The anomalies of the four models are then combined using a simple normalized average as described for the surface air temperature. Finally the precipitation anomalies are divided in three categories (above, near and below the normal) as is done for the temperature anomaly forecast.

References

Côté, J., S. Gravel, A. Méthot, A. Patoine, M. Roch, and A. Staniforth, 1998: The operational CMC-MRB Global Environmental Multiscale (GEM) model: Part I - Design considerations and formulation, Mon. Wea. Rev., 126, 1373-1395. [paper]

Derome J., G. Brunet, A. Plante, N. Gagnon, G. J. Boer, F. W. Zwiers, S. J. Lambert, J. Sheng, et H. Ritchie, 2001: Seasonal Predictions Based on Two Dynamical Models.Atmos. Ocean., 39, 485-501. [paper] (Requires Acrobat Reader to view)

Kharin, V. V. et F. W. Zwiers, 2001: Skill as a function of time scale in ensemble of seasonal hindcasts. Climate Dynamics, 17, 127-141. [abstract]

Kharin, V.V ., F. W. Zwiers et N. Gagnon, 2001: Skill of seasonal hindcasts as a function of the ensemble size. Climate Dynamics, 17, 835-843. [abstract]

McFarlane, N.A., G.J. Boer, J.-P. Blanchet et M. Lazare. 1992: The Canadian Climate Centre second-generation general circulation model and its equilibrium climate. J. Climate, 5, 1013-1044. [abstract]

Plante A. et N. Gagnon, 2000: Numerical Approach to Seasonal Forecasting. In the "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operational meteorology", Halifax, Novembre 1999, 162-165. (Requires Acrobat Reader to view)

Prévisions saisonnières basées sur des modèles de prévision numérique du temps

Introduction

Depuis septembre 1995, le le Service météorologique du Canada (CMC) d'Environnement Canada produit des aperçus de 1-3 mois pour le Canada. Ces aperçus sont des prévisions de l'anomalie de la température de l'air à la surface et de précipitations pour une période de 3 mois.

La prévision 1-3 mois se compose de 40 exécutions de modèles (membres), avec 10 exécutions de chacun des modèles suivants: la version climatique du modèle global environnemental multi échelle (GEM-CLIM) du groupe de recherche en prévision numérique (RPN) du temps, la seconde et la troisième génération du modèle de circulation générale atmosphérique (MCGA2 et MCGA3) du Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l'analyse climatique (CCmaC) et le SEF (modèle spectral aux éléments finis) de RPN.

  • Le modèle GEM-CLIM utilise le modèle GEM (Côté et al. 1998) développé dans le groupe de la Recherche en Prévision Numérique du temps (RPN). Ce modèle a une résolution horizontale de 2 degrés avec 50 niveaux dans la verticale vertical levels.
  • Le modèle MCGA2 (McFarlane et al. 1992), du (Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l'analyse climatique (CCmaC), a une résolution horizontale de 625 km (T32) avec 10 niveaux dans la verticale.
  • La troisième génération du modèle de circulation générale atmosphérique (MCGA-3) (Scinocca et al. 2004), aussi du CCmaC a une résolution horizontale de 315 km (T63) avec 32 niveaux dans la verticale.
  • Le modèle SEF, développé à RPN a été utilisé dans des études antérieurs pour l'asimilation de données globale et les prévisions à moyens et longue échéances (Ritchie, 1991; Ritchie and Beaudoin, 1994). C'est un modèle spectral, global, avec une résolution horizontale de 210 km (T95) et 27 niveaux dans la verticale.

Les modèles utilisent les mêmes analyses atmosphériques qui proviennent du CMC. Par ailleurs, le traitement des champs de surface diffèrent. Le forçage de surface doit être traité avec attention car il est crucial dans le contrôle de la variabilité de l'atmosphère à l'échelle de la saison. Les modèles numériques utilisés dans le système de prévisions du CMC sont forcés par 3 champs : les températures de la surface de la mer (TSM), la couverture en glace marine et le couvert de neige. Le traitement de ces champs est effectué selon la méthode suivante :

  • Pour GEM-CLIM : étant donné que l'on n'utilise pas de modèle d'océan interactif, les anomalies de TSM observées dans les 30 jours précédents le début de la prévision sont prescrites pour toute la saison prédite. Ces anomalies sont additionnées à la climatologie de TSM qui évolue au cours de la saison prévue. Les étenudes de la neige et de la glace marine sont, quant à eux, initialisées avec les analyses du CMC puis interpolées vers la climatologie observée durant les 15 premiers jours des intégrations numériques.
  • Pour MGCA2 : le traitement des anomalies de TSM est fait de façon identique au traitement décrit ci-dessus pour le modèle GEM. Le couvert de glace marine est prescrit comme étant climatologique durant toute l'intégration. Le couvert de neige est initialisé à partir des observations hebdomadaires.
  • Pour MGCA3 : le traitement des anomalies de TSM est fait de façon identique au traitement décrit ci-dessus pour le modèle GEM. Le couvert de glace marine est initialisés avec les analyses du CMC puis interpolés vers la climatologie observée durant les 15 premiers jours des intégrations numériques. Le couvert de neige est initialisés à partir d'observations hebdomadaires et par la suite il est calculé de façon prognostique.
  • pour le modèle SEF : le traitement des anomalies de TSM est fait de façon identique au traitement décrit ci-dessus pour le modèle GEM. Les étendues de la neige et de la glace marine sont, quant à elles, initialisées avec les analyses du CMC puis interpolées vers la climatologie observée durant les 15 premiers jours des intégrations numériques.

Les dérives climatiques ou biais des modèles, sont enlevés en utilisant leurs climatologies respectives (voir ci-dessous pour plus d'explications). Les climatologies des modèles viennent de 30 ans de prévisions historiques effectuées lors du projet de prévisions historiques (appelé HFP). Le HFP a été également essentiel pour estimer la performance attendue des modèles (voir les discussions dans Derome et al., 2001; Kharin et Zwiers, 2001; Kharin et al., 2001 et Plante et Gagnon, 2000). Les données du projet des prévisions historiques sont disponibles en ligne au site du CCmaC.

Méthodologie de la prévision de la température de l'air à la surface

Les prévisions de la température de l'air à la surface sont produites en faisant premièment la moyenne saisonnières de la température quotidienne tel que prévue par chaque modèle. La climatologie des modèles est ensuite soustraite de la température moyennne prévue par chacun pour calculer l'anomalie prévue. Les anomalies des modèles sont ensuite normalisées et combinées en utilisant une moyenne arithmétique.  L'anomalie prévue de la température de l'air à la surface est une prévision de l'anomalie température moyenne journalière tel que mesurée à la hauteur de l'abri Stevenson (2 mètres). Finalement, les anomalies sont divisées en 3 categories (au-dessus, près et sous la normale).

Méthodologie de la prévision de précipitations

Les prévisions de précipitations sont produites en utilisant l'accumulation des précipitations durant la saison. Les précipitations prédites par les modèles sont le total liquide et incluent tous les types: neige, pluie, grésil, etc. La climatologie des modèles est soustraite du total des précipitations prévues pour determiner les anomalies prévues. Les anomalies des  modèles sont ensuite combinées en utilisant une simple moyenne normalisée puis mise sous forme de catégories (au-dessus, près et sous la normale)comme pour la prévision de la température.

Références

Côté, J., S. Gravel, A. Méthot, A. Patoine, M. Roch, and A. Staniforth, 1998: The operational CMC-MRB Global Environmental Multiscale (GEM) model: Part I - Design considerations and formulation, Mon. Wea. Rev., 126, 1373-1395. [article]

Derome J., G. Brunet, A. Plante, N. Gagnon, G. J. Boer, F. W. Zwiers, S. J. Lambert, J. Sheng, et H. Ritchie, 2001: Seasonal Predictions Based on Two Dynamical Models.Atmos. Ocean., 39, 485-501. [article] (Nécessite Acrobat Reader pour voir)

Kharin, V. V. et F. W. Zwiers, 2001: Skill as a function of time scale in ensemble of seasonal hindcasts. Climate Dynamics, 17, 127-141. [résumé]

Kharin, V.V ., F. W. Zwiers et N. Gagnon, 2001: Skill of seasonal hindcasts as a function of the ensemble size. Climate Dynamics, 17, 835-843. [résumé]

McFarlane, N.A., G.J. Boer, J.-P. Blanchet et M. Lazare. 1992: The Canadian Climate Centre second-generation general circulation model and its equilibrium climate. J. Climate, 5, 1013-1044. [résumé]

Plante A. et N. Gagnon, 2000: Numerical Approach to Seasonal Forecasting. In the "Proceedings of the sixth workshop on operational meteorology", Halifax, Novembre 1999, 162-165. (Nécessite Acrobat Reader pour voir)