NAEFS (North American Ensemble Forecasting System)

NAEFS is an initiative involving Canada, the United States and Mexico. NAEFS establish meteorological forecasts combining American and Canadian ensemble systems.

Introduction and Description of Ensemble Forecast

The Canadian Ensemble Prediction System

The Canadian Ensemble System is composed of 20 members and 1 control member. The 20 members are based on the Global Environmental Multi-Scale model (GEM). The 20 models don't have the same physical parameterization, assimilation cycle or perturbed observations. Fore more information on Ensemble Forecast system, click here.

The American Ensemble Prediction System

The American Ensemble System is composed of 20 members with 1 control. Each member represents a perturbed forecast. Perturbations come from independent breeding cycles. More details on this system are available at the following links:

Interpretation of the unified chart of temperature anomaly forecast: day 8 to 14 Outlooks.

This chart represents the probabilistic forecast of temperature anomaly over the NAEFS (or global) domain. On the same chart are depicted forecast probabilities for temperature anomaly to be above, near or below normal. In contrast to the individual charts for each category, only the 50% and higher probability values are enhanced (probabilities for the 2 other categories may have non zero value but they are below the 50% threshold). White areas are then representative of regions with probability values lower than 50%.

Information on the charts is explained on the following image. Click on the map to open it at full resolution to get the complete information on a region (the full probabilities value, for one or the other category), consult the individual charts for each of the 3 categories.

Explanation of the charts

Interpretation of individual charts for the 3 categories of forecast temperature anomaly : day 8 to 14 Outlooks.

These charts represent the probabilistic forecast of temperature anomaly. They are available for both the NAEFS and the global domain for each of the 3 categories: above, near and below normal. Interpretation is the same for all of them, only the color enhancement is changing to indicate the category (above, near or below normal).  The following image represents forecast probabilities for the temperature anomalies to be above normal (uncalibrated data).  As opposed to the unified chart, the full range of probabilities is enhanced, from 0 to 100%.  To get an example of probabilistic forecast interpretation, click on this link.

Information on the charts is explained on the following image. Click on the map to open it at full resolution.

Information on the chart

Chart samples (for the same date) for the other categories: Near normal and Below normal.

Temperature climatology charts: content and interpretation.

These charts help to determine the range of temperature values, for an above, near or below normal forecast of temperature anomaly. Related to the previous images (the NAEFS and Global coverage image) one can determine what the temperature is for a specific region.

As an example, take the Gaspe Peninsula, where, based on the NAEFS chart we have a probability value between 90 and 100% to have above temperature anomalies (90 to 100% of the ensemble members indicate above normal temperature anomaly).  What would be the expected temperature values if the forecast is good?

On the climatological chart for temperature (below) we can see, for the Gaspe Peninsula temperature values ranging from -8 to -4 Celsius. Those are the temperature threshold values. If the forecast is good (above normal) then the temperature would be above (warmer) those values.

Information on the charts is explained on the following image. Click on the map to open it at full resolution.

Information on the chart

What we are doing

Features

Be weather wise!

Extreme Heat Protection

Be weather wise!

UV Index and sun protection

When thunder roars, GO INDOORS!

Lightning Safety

Date modified:

SPENA (Système de prévision d'ensemble nord-américain):

Le SPENA, une initiative impliquant les services météorologiques du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique, est chargé d'établir des prévisions météorologiques à partir du regroupement des systèmes de prévision d'ensembles canadien et américain.

Introduction et description des ensembles :

Le système de prévisions d'ensemble canadien :

Le système canadien est composé de 20 membres et 1 contrôle. Les 20 membres proviennent du modèle modèle Global Environnemental Multi-échelle (GEM). Les 20 modèles n'ont pas les mêmes paramétrages physiques, cycles d'assimilation ni observations perturbées. Pour plus d'information sur la prévision d'ensemble, consulter ce lien ce lien.

Le système de prévisions d'ensemble américain :

Le système Américain des ensembles est composé de 20 membres et 1 contrôle. Chaque membre représente une prévision perturbée. Les perturbations proviennent de cycles "breeding" indépendants. Plus de détails sont disponibles aux liens suivants (en anglais seulement) :

Interprétation de la carte unifiée de la prévision d'anomalie de température : aperçu pour les jours 8 à 14.

Cette carte représente la prévision probabiliste d'anomalie de température sur le domaine du SPENA (ou global).  Sur une même carte sont représentées les probabilités d'être au-dessus, près ou au-dessous de la normale. Contrairement aux cartes distinctes par catégories, seules les valeurs de probabilité au-dessus de 50% sont rehaussées (les probabilités pour les 2 autres catégories peuvent être non nulles mais sont sous le seuil de 50%).  Les zones blanches représentent donc des régions où les valeurs de probabilités sont inférieures à 50%.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits sont expliquées sur l'image.   Pour avoir l'information complète pour une région (la gamme complète des valeurs de probabilités pour une ou l'autre des catégories), consulter la page des cartes individuelles pour chacune des 3 catégories.

Cliquer sur l'image permet de l'afficher à sa pleine résolution.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits

Description des cartes par catégorie de la prévision de l'anomalie de température : aperçu pour les jours 8 à 14.

Ces cartes représentent une prévision probabiliste de l'anomalie de la température.  Les cartes sont disponibles pour le domaine global pour chacune des catégories: au-dessus, près de et au-dessous de la normale.   L'interprétation des images est la même pour toutes les cartes, seule la couleur utilisée pour indiquer la catégorie (au-dessus, près de ou au-dessous de la normale) change.  L'image ci-dessous représente les probabilités prévues que la température soit au-dessus de la normale (non-calibrées).  Contrairement à la carte unifiée, les valeurs de probabilités sont rehaussées entre 0 et 100%.  Pour un exemple d'interprétation des prévisions probabilistes, consultez ce lien.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits sont expliquées sur l'image.

Cliquer sur l'image permet de l'afficher à sa pleine résolution.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits

Exemples de cartes pour la même date pour les autres catégories: près de la normale et au-dessous de la normale

Cartes de la climatologie des températures : contenu et interprétation.

Ces cartes aident à déterminer les valeurs de température pour une région lorsque l'on prévoit au-dessus, près ou au-dessous de la normale.

En relation avec les images précédentes (celle du domaine SPENA et global) on peut déterminer quelle est la valeur de la température pour une région donnée.  Prenons pour exemple la péninsule gaspésienne où, selon la carte SPENA, nous avons entre 90 et 100% de probabilité d'être au-dessus de la normale (90 à 100% des membres de l'ensemble indiquent au-dessus de la normale).  À quelles valeurs de températures doit-on s'attendre pour cette période si la prévision se réalise?

Sur la carte de la climatologie des températues (ci-dessous) on note pour la péninsule gaspésienne, des valeurs de températures qui sont autour de -8 à -4 degrés celcius.  Ce sont les valeurs seuil.  Si la prévision se concrétisait, alors les températures seraient supérieures (plus chaudes) à ces valeurs.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits sont expliquées sur l'image.

Cliquer sur l'image permet de l'aficher à sa pleine résolution.

Les informations disponibles sur les produits