Surface Analyses

The surface analyses show plots of surface station readings, lines of equal Mean Sea Level air pressure (called isobars), fronts (as drawn in by CMC meteorologists) and centres of high and low pressure. The graphical depiction of weather conditions used in the station plots follows the standards of the World Meteorological Organization.

Upper Air Analyses

The upper air analyses depict the conditions at various standard altitude levels. They use a different convention than the surface analysis, and do need a little getting used to. The principle is this:

  • Since air pressure diminishes with height according to a well-known mathematical formula, pressure can be used, instead of metres or feet, to measure altitude in the atmosphere.
  • Moreover, exactly as air pressure changes slowly according to our position at the Mean Sea Level, the actual height of a constant pressure level changes slowly if we move horizontally.

Consider the chart obtained by measuring the air pressure at 5500 metres (the approximative height of the 500 hPa pressure level) at many points over Canada, and drawing isobars. While that chart would be a direct counterpart of the Mean Sea Level pressure analysis, it is actually easier, for technical reasons, to measure the height of the 500 Hectopascal pressure level at many points and then drawing lines of equal height. This is a little bit counterintuitive at first, but just remember that the two approaches are equivalent.

In addition to the main parameter of height, the upper air charts also contain secondary fields in dashed lines. Here is a brief explanation of each field:

  • 850 hPa, 700 hPa: Secondary field is temperature in degrees Celsius
  • 500 hPa preliminary: Secondary field is 1000 hPa to 500 hPa thickness. This is indicative of the average temperature of the column of air under the 500 hPa pressure level. Larger thicknesses indicate warmer air.
  • 250 hPa: Secondary field is wind speed. This reveals the location of Jet Streams.

Analyses de surface

Les analyses de surface montrent les données pointées aux stations météo, les lignes d'égale pression au niveau moyen de la mer (les isobars), les fronts (tels que repérés par les météorologistes du CMC) et les centres de basse et de haute pression. Les symboles graphiques utilisés pour le pointage des données aux stations se conforment aux standards de l'Organisation Météorologique Mondiale.

Analyses aérologiques

Les analyses de données en altitude montrent les systèmes météorologiques à différents niveaux standards d'altitude. Elles utilisent une convention différente de celle de l'analyse de surface, et requièrent une certaine adaptation de la part des nouveaux usagers. En voici le principe:

  • Puisque la pression de l'air diminue avec l'altitude selon une formule mathématique bien connue, on peut choisir d'utiliser la pression, plutôt que des pieds ou des mètres, pour mesurer l'altitude dans l'atmosphère.
  • De plus, exactement comme on peut le constater dans le cas de la pression atmosphérique au niveau de la mer, la hauteur réelle d'un niveau de pression constant change lentement si on se déplace horizontalement.

Considérez la carte qu'on obtiendrait en mesurant la pression de l'air à 5500 mètres (la hauteur approximative du niveau de pression de 500 hPa) à plusieurs points au dessus du Canada, et en traçant ensuite les isobars. Bien que cette carte soit la contrepartie exacte de l'analyse de pression au niveau de la mer, il est en réalité techniquement plus facile de mesurer la hauteur du niveau de pression de 500 hPa et ensuite de tracer des lignes d'égale hauteur (isohypses). Cela est plutôt incongru au premier abord, mais souvenez-vous simplement que les deux approches sont équivalentes.

En plus du paramètre de hauteur, les analyses aérologiques contiennent un champ secondaire, en lignes tiretées. Voici une brève explication de chaque champ:

  • 850 hPa, 700 hPa : Le champ secondaire est la température en degrés Celsius
  • 500 hPa preliminary : Le champ secondaire est l'épaisseur entre les niveaux de pression 1000 hPa à 500 hPa. Ce champ donne une indication de la température moyenne dans la colonne d'air sous 500 hPa. Des valeurs plus grandes indiquent de l'air plus chaud.
  • 250 hPa: Le champ secondaire est la vitesse du vent, ce qui révèle la position des courants jets.